الإمارات العربية المتحدة


الإمارات العربية المتحدة دولة عضو في اتفاقية باريس لحماية الملكة الصناعية منذ 19 سبتمبر 1996، وتتبع الإمارات التصنيف الدولي للبضائع بموجب اتفاقية نيس (النسخة العاشرة).

عدل القانون الاتحادي رقم 8 لسنة 2002 بعض مواد القانون الاتحادي رقم 37 لسنة 1992، ويغطي القانون الإمارات السبعة وهي أبو ظبي ودبي والشارقة والفجيرة ورأس الخيمة وأم القيوين وعجمان.

 

استعمال العلامة التجارية ليس إلزاميا لغايات إيداع طلب التسجيل ولا لغايات إدامته، إلا أن لأي شخص أن يطلب من المحكمة المختصة شطب التسجيل في حال عدم استعمال المالك للعلامة التجارية في الإمارات لمدة خمس سنوات متتالية اعتبارا من تاريخ التسجيل.

ويعتبر الاستعمال غير القانوني و\أو غير المصرح به لعلامة تجارية مسجلة من قبل الغير، واستعمال علامة مقلدة أو مزورة على البضائع\ الخدمات، والتقدم بسوء نية بطلب لتسجيل علامة تجارية تخص الغير والتعامل ببضائع تحمل علامة مقلدة أو مزورة أو تقديم الخدمات تحت علامة تجارية مزورة أو مقلدة واستعمال العلامة التجارية التي تقع ضمن فئة معينة أو التي لا تقبل التسجيل جرائم يعاقب عليها القانون.

 


 عمان

عمان دولة عضو في اتفاقية باريس لحماية الملكية الصناعية وتتبع عمان التصنيف الدولي للبضائع والخدمات لغايات تسجيل العلامات التجارية بموجب اتفاقية نيس.

استعمال العلامة التجارية ليس شرطا لطلب التسجيل في عمان أو لإدامة التسجيل، إلا أن العلامة التجارية تصبح عرضة للشطب من قبل أي طرف ذي مصلحة يتمكن من إثبات عدم استعمال العلامة لمدة متواصلة تبلغ 3 سنوات، ما لم يقدم صاحب العلامة عذرا مقبولا لعدم استعماله للعلامة ويصبح التسجيل غير قابل للاعتراض عليه في حال استعمال العلامة لمدة 3 سنوات متواصلة من تاريخ التسجيل دون أي دعوى قضائية محقة ضد التسجيل خلال المدة المذكورة.

يعتبر الاستعمال غير المصرح به لعلامة مسجلة بموجب القانون، وتقليد العلامة ووضعها على البضائع أو استخدامها بالنسبة للخدمات في نفس الصنف، وبيع البضائع أو حيازتها بقصد البيع أو عرض بضائع تحمل علامة مزورة للبيع أو استعمال علامة مسجلة أصولا من قبل شخص آخر بقصد الترويج غير المصرح به لبضائع أو خدمات في نفس الصنف جرائم يعاقب عليها القانون.


البحرين

 

البحرين دولة عضو في اتفاقية باريس لحماية الملكية الصناعية . بداية من ييونيو 2007  ، المطالبة بالأولوية أصبح متاحا.

 

استعمال العلامة التجارية ليس شرطا لطلب التسجيل في البحرين أو لإدامة التسجيل، إلا أن العلامة التجارية تصبح عرضة للشطب من قبل أي طرف ذي مصلحة يتمكن من إثبات عدم استعمال العلامة لمدة متواصلة تبلغ 5 سنوات، ما لم يقدم صاحب العلامة عذرا مقبولا لعدم استعماله للعلامة ويصبح التسجيل غير قابل للاعتراض عليه في حال استعمال العلامة لمدة5سنوات متواصلة من تاريخ التسجيل دون أي دعوى قضائية محقة ضد التسجيل خلال المدة المذكورة.

يعتبر الاستعمال غير المصرح به لعلامة مسجلة بموجب القانون، وتقليد العلامة ووضعها على البضائع أو استخدامها بالنسبة للخدمات في نفس الصنف، وبيع البضائع أو حيازتها بقصد البيع أو عرض بضائع تحمل علامة مزورة للبيع أو استعمال علامة مسجلة أصولا من قبل شخص آخر بقصد الترويج غير المصرح به لبضائع أو خدمات في نفس الصنف جرائم يعاقب عليها القانون في البحرين.

 
قطر

تتبع قطر التصنيف الدولي للسلع والخدمات لأغراض تسجيل العلامات بناء على اتفاقية نيس، إلا أن الأصناف 1، 4-7، 10-14، 16-22، 29 و31 لا يمكن أن تحمى بشكل كامل بموجب قانون العلامات التجارية، ولا يسمح بتسجيل المنتجات في الصنف 33 والمشروبات الكحولية في الصنف 32، وقد تم تعديل القانون بحيث أصبح واجبا إيداع طلب منفصل بالنسبة لكل صنف من البضائع والخدمات.

 

استعمال العلامة التجارية في قطر ليس إلزاميا لغايات إيداع طلب التسجيل أو لإدامة نفاذ التسجيل المذكور، ولأي طرف ذي مصلحة أن يستصدر من المحكمة أمرا بشطب قيد العلامة التجارية في حال لم يقم مالك العلامة خلال السنوات الخمس التالية لتسجيل العلامة باستعمالها في قطر، ولا يتم قبول الدعوى بطلب شطب العلامة إلا بعد إعطاء مالك العلامة إشعارا مدته شهر لإفادته بشطب العلامة لعدم الاستعمال.

ويعتبر الاستخدام غير المصرح به للعلامة التجارية المسجلة وتقليد العلامة التجارية واستخدامها على نفس السلع في نفس الصنف بقصد البيع، وتخزينها لهذه الغاية أو عرض البضائع التي تحمل علامة مزيفة، أو استخدام علامة تخص الغير لترويج بضائع من نفس الصنف بشكل غير مصرح به جرائم يعاقب عليها بموجب القانون في قطر.

السعودية

المملكة العربية السعودية دولة عضو في اتفاقية باريس لحماية الملكية الصناعية، وتتبع السعودية التصنيف الدولي للسلع والخدمات لأغراض تسجيل العلامات بناء على اتفاقية نيس، على أن العلامات التجارية التي تغطي المنتجات الكحولية لا تقبل التسجيل، كما ولا تقبل التسجيل العلامات التي تخص خدمات البيع بالجملة وبالتجزئة

يعتبر الاستعمال غير المصرح به لعلامة مسجلة بموجب القانون، وتقليد العلامة ووضعها على البضائع أو استخدامها بالنسبة للخدمات في نفس الصنف، وبيع البضائع التي تحمل علامة مزورة أو حيازتها بقصد البيع أو عرضها للبيع أو استعمال علامة مسجلة أصولا من قبل شخص آخر بقصد الترويج غير المصرح به لبضائع أو خدمات في نفس الصنف جرائم يعاقب عليها القانون.


الكويت

تتبع الكويت التصنيف الدولي للبضائع والخدمات لأغراض تسجيل العلامات بناء على اتفاقية نيس، على أنه لا تمنح بموجب قانون العلامات التجارية أي حماية للعلامات التجارية التي تخص المشروبات الكحولية في الصنفين 32 و33 ولحم الخنزير في الصنف 29، حيث تم إسقاط الصنف 33 كاملا، كما قد تم تقييد الصنف 34 بمنتجات التبغ.

استعمال العلامة التجارية ليس شرطا لطلب التسجيل في الكويت أو لإدامة التسجيل، إلا أن العلامة التجارية تصبح عرضة للشطب من قبل أي طرف ذي مصلحة يثبت للمحكمة عدم استعمال العلامة لمدة متواصلة تبلغ 5 سنوات متواصلة، ما لم يقدم صاحب العلامة عذرا مقبولا لعدم استعماله للعلامة.

UAE

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) has been a member of the Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property since September 19, 1996. The International Classification of Goods and Services for the Purpose of the Registration of Marks under the Nice Agreement (10th edition) is followed in the UAE.

Federal Law No. 8 for the year 2002 amended some articles of the Federal Law No. 37 for the year 1992. The law covers the seven Emirates of Abu-Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ras Al-Khaimah, Ajman, Fujairah and Umm Al-Quwain.

 

Use of a trademark is not compulsory for filing application for registration or for maintaining the registration in force. However, any interested party may request the court to cancel a trademark registration, if the owner fails to use such a trademark in the UAE for 5 consecutive years from the date of registration.

Illegal and/or unauthorized use of a registered trademark by any third party, use of a fake or counterfeit trade/service mark, application to one’s goods a registered trademark belonging to another party in bad faith, dealing in goods bearing a fake or counterfeit trademark, rendering services under a fake or counterfeit service mark, and use of a trademark that falls under certain categories of unregistrable marks are offenses punishable under the law in the UAE.

OMAN

Oman is a member of the Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property. The International Classification of Goods and Services for the Purposes of the Registration of Marks under the Nice Agreement is followed in Oman.  

 

Use of trademarks is not compulsory in Oman for filing applications or for maintaining registrations in force. However, a trademark registration becomes vulnerable to cancellation by any interested party who can establish the fact that the trademark was not actually used for a period of 3 years in succession, unless the owner of the mark presents a reasonable excuse to justify his non-use of the mark. A trademark registration will be incontestable, if it gains uninterrupted use for 3 years as of the registration date without any successful legal action against it during that period.

Unauthorized use of a trademark registered under the law, an imitation of such trademark applied on goods or in relation with services of the same class, sale, storing for the purpose of sale, or exhibiting for sale of goods bearing a counterfeit mark, or using a mark duly registered under the law by another person to serve the purpose of unauthorized promotion of goods or services of the same class are offenses punishable under the law.

BAHRAIN

The Kingdom of Bahrain is a member of the Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property. Starting June 2007, claiming priority has become possible.

The International Classification of Goods and Services for the Purposes of the Registration of Marks under the Nice Agreement is followed in Bahrain and the revision of class 42 with the creation of classes 43 to 45 has been adopted as of July 1, 2005.

 
Use of trademarks in Bahrain is not compulsory, neither for filing applications for registration nor for maintaining trademark registrations in force. However, a trademark is subject to cancellation by any interested party, who can establish that the trademark has not been actually used during the 5 years preceding the application for cancellation, or that there was no bona fide intention of using the trademark on the goods in respect of which the trademark was registered.

Unauthorized use of a trademark registered under the law or an imitation of such trademark applied on goods of the same class, or sale, storing for the purpose of sale, or exhibiting for sale of goods bearing a counterfeit mark, or using a mark duly registered under the law by another person to serve the purpose of unauthorized promotion of goods of the same class, are offenses penalized under the law in Bahrain.


Qatar

Qatar follows the International Classification of Goods and Services for the Purposes of the Registration of Marks under the Nice Agreement, yet classes 1, 4 to 7, 10 to 14, 16 to 22, 29 and 31 are not granted entirely under the trademark law. Products covered by class 33 and alcoholic drinks and beverages in class 32 are not registrable. The law has been amended so that a separate application should be filed with respect to each class of goods or services.

Use of trademarks in Qatar is not compulsory for filing applications or for maintaining trademark registrations in force. Any interested party may request the court to order cancellation of a trademark registration, if the owner fails to use such a trademark in Qatar within 5 consecutive years from the date of the registration. The cancellation action for non-use of a registered trademark cannot be accepted unless the owner of a trademark is given a one-month notice that his trademark is subject to cancellation for non-use.

Unauthorized use of a trademark registered under the law, an imitation of such a trademark applied on goods and/or used in respect of services of the same class, sale, storing for the purpose of sale, exhibiting for sale of goods bearing a counterfeit mark, or using a mark duly registered under the law by another person to serve the purpose of unauthorized promotion of goods and/or services of the same class are offenses punishable under the law in Qatar.

KSA

Saudi Arabia is a member of the Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property. The International Classification of Goods and Services for the Purposes of the Registration of Marks under the Nice Agreement is followed in Saudi Arabia. Trademarks covering alcoholic goods are not registrable as well as retail and wholesale services. 

Unauthorized use of a trademark registered under the law, an imitation of such trademark applied on goods or in relation with services of the same class, sale, storing for the purpose of sale, exhibiting for sale of goods bearing a counterfeit mark, or using a mark duly registered under the law by another person to serve the purpose of unauthorized promotion of goods or services of the same class are offenses punishable under the law.

KUWAIT

The International Classification of Goods and Services for the Purposes of the Registration of Marks under the Nice Agreement is followed in Kuwait. The trademark law does not provide for the protection of trademarks covering alcoholic drinks in classes 32 and 33 and pork meat in class 29. Class No. 33 has been completely dropped and the international class 34 has been reinstated for tobacco products.

 

Use of trademarks in Kuwait is not a prerequisite for filing applications for registration or for maintaining trademark registrations in force. However, a trademark registration is vulnerable to cancellation by any party who can convince the court that the trademark has not actually been used in a serious manner for 5 consecutive years, or that there was no bona fide of using the trademark on the goods in respect of which the trademark was registered.

Unauthorized use of a trademark registered under the law or an imitation of such a trademark applied on goods of the same class, or sale, storing for the purpose of sale, or exhibiting for sale of goods, bearing a counterfeit mark by another person to serve the purpose of unauthorized promotion of goods of the same class are offenses punishable under the law in Kuwait.